books · reviews

Heartless {review}

HeartlessHeartless by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*SPOILERS AHEAD BEWARE SPOILERS*
K, so. This book. Was pretty decent. But I was still disappointed. Now, I love me a good fairy tale rewrite, and Alice in Wonderland is so kooky, so zany, and guys, this is Marissa Meyer. She writes really great books.

But Heartless? Was not a great book. It’s mediocre at best.

Let’s start with the characters, because they are what can make or break a story. Catharine Pinkerton (what kind of fairy tale name is that?) is the daughter of gentry but that simply isn’t good enough for her. Oh no, she wants to be a baker and open a bakery, because that is her passion! Her dream! Her goal in life!

*inhale*

So. I loved all the baking bits (because culinary school, yeah boy). But?? Baking is so important to Cath?? And I feel like that barely stood out in the book at all to me. Yeah she baked, and yeah that was a driving force in her motivations but…it didn’t stand out as something that really influenced her.

Also…Cath as a character. She seemed like she had little to no motivation. She wanted to be a baker but never told her parents until it was nearly too late. Her romance with Jest was….flat and blah and two dimensional. She herself was wishy-washy. And I had no idea what she even looked like? Plus her total 180 at the end of the book, like whoa lady, take it down a notch. And (view spoiler) she was spoiled, sulky, and just kind of annoying.

Now, Jest. I get the feeling he would be a super popular character because oh my gracious, a pretty male lead! Of course he’s going to be the fave! I felt, though, that his character was so flat. You got to see his motivations and see a bit of his romancing of Cath, but who was he really? What happened in Chess? Why do we not get any more backstory? What is he even like as a person?

Hatta I did like, and his gradual descent into madness was believable.

The other supporting characters were okay. Cath’s parents reminded me soooo much of Mr. and Mrs. Bennet, it’s not even funny. Except that it is.

(view spoiler)

I was underwhelmed and kind of disappointed, because the book started out so well and actually held my attention past the first 15 pages. For it to end like it did was a huge letdown to me.

So all in all, I’d give this about a 3.2 or 3.0 stars, with a ‘kind of recommend if you can tolerate dumb female leads’ recommendation.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

